Food/ Drink, Nutrition, Product Reviews

Review: Perk!er Bars + a quick update!

Hi everybody! I am delighted to finally my first ever product review! I’ve been wanting to start reviewing products for a while now but, ever since I accidentally deleted my first review (incredibly annoying) I had put it on hold. However, I was over the moon when the lovely people at Perk!er offered to send me a whole box of their bars! So, without further ado, let’s begin! file_002-3

Ok, it has to be said: these are probably my absolute favourite cereal bar I have ever had! The box contained a really good variety of flavours including 2 Cacao & Cashews, 2 Goji & Cranberries, 2 Coconut & Chias,  one Cashew, Chia & Pumpkin Seed and one Oaty Cranberry & Cashew. Taste wise, all of these bars are delicious! I shared some of them out with a few of my friends who also approved (rating the Coconut and Chia the highest). My personal favourite has to be between cashew, chia & pumpkin seed or the oaty cranberry & cashew but they were all really good! They were a particularly useful supply to have throughout my busy week – a perfect snack for pre/ post run or netball.

However, almost even more impressive than the taste, are the ingredients! All the bars are all natural, vegan, gluten-free, high in protein, a source of fibre and omega 3 and 6 and rich in antioxidants…wow! What most intrigued me about Perk!er was that all their products are mostly made of quinoa! When I first became as vegan, quinoa made up a large portion of my diet but nowadays, I have a bit more of a range – yet I am still aware of this grain’s superfood powers but it is just slightly bland…these bars are anything but bland! The quinoa actually creates a really nice texture (and taste, surprisingly)! Every single one of the ingredients have really great benefits – all in all making a healthy, delicious, energising snack!

File_000 (18).jpeg

I have found these products in Sainsbury’s, Tesco and Ocado and I know they also sell them in Holland & Barrett, Asda, Morrisons and Whole Foods. I would say that’s pretty good availability!

I think the balance of amazing taste and nutrition make Perk!er a winner in my book. Overall, I give a score of 9/10! I would also like to thank Perk!er for their generosity – it is so refreshing to come across a company made by such lovely people!

A Quick Update

Recently my weeks have been getting busier and busier! Year Nine have been racking up the homework and revision plus the netball season is well under-way! In addition, Cross Country has finally begun! Call me crazy but I think that I’m going to really love XC this year. Last year was my first ever taste at hilly and off road races at all (and actually racing now that I think about it) so, of course, it was a bit of a shock to the system and I can’t say I enjoyed it that much (with the exception of the few easier races in which I placed highly). However, this time, I am really excited. I think that I am more prepared and really ready for the hills, trails and mud…well, maybe not mud.

This Friday, a couple of my friends and I were allowed to leave school after lunch to go to the English Schools Cross Country Cup which, thankfully, was fairly local. There were quite a lot of schools there and I knew that we would be racing year tens as well so I was, inevitably a little nervous -particularly since it was my first one and a fair few super fast girls I know were there. Despite this, it turned out pretty well and I managed to place 10th overall – which I was very pleased with. I don’t think I handled the wind very well however and I do think I need a bit more practice at grassy hills – so that’s exactly what we did! After a not so fast junior parkrun, my dad and I ran to the park and did a great session of lots of hill repeats in a steep field. I’m thinking of doing that most weeks instead of Junior Parkrun for a while, just to get my strength back because I know it will be really beneficial (plus it was good fun and there were some cute dogs in the park).

This coming week is pretty busy for me. I have multiple tests, possibly two netball matches and another cross country at some point (the date has not been confirmed yet). I am also going to a wedding next Saturday which will be really lovely and we have decided to visit Margate Junior Parkrun, which is nearby, before we leave 😉

I hope you enjoyed today’s blog post! If you have any products you would like me to review please let me know! Also, good luck for anyone who has upcoming cross country races!

Have a lovely week,

Ellie xx

Leave a Reply

